Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dodgy ebay
Lumenlab > Audio Video Sciences > Projector Builder > DIY Video Projector Design
makey
Diy Audio Link
Check out the link on that page to the ebay fella that's selling potentially copyright stuff. Hmmm it seems very dodgy. ph34r.gif
brainchild
They never quit...How can they live with themselves stealing from people who have worked their asses off?

Especially great seeing my wife (Lustra) 'endorsing' some crap like that. I'll write the seller.
elken2004
Brainchild, I would contact Ebay and get them to at least modify the add, and or advise them that he has violated some of their own rules..
brainchild
Yes, I did...standard...we get one a week or so.
davehtr
atleast he said it was an excellent DIY projection image
blake
laugh.gif Those guys are pathetic, geesh.
fastscirocco
The Ebay auction is still up using your photos

http://cgi.ebay.com/50MB-30-different-DIY-...1QQcmdZViewItem
Yoder808
That is some bull$hi#. Man Brain, you gotta be pissed off at this guy. What are they gonna do about it?
brainchild
There isn't much I can do at this time. Ebay requires that we have a previous auction running that demonstrates we were using the image first. Sadly, a few months back eBay decided that we were fresnel lens 'big tv' scammers like the rest and told us we could no longer run auctions on eBay. I explained the situation to the robots that 'process' customer service and was told I can list in the 'information' category with the Sea Monkeys and get rich quick pdfs. This means that I can't 'prove' to eBay that that is my wife and my picture. I sent the scammer a cease and desist which he ignored.
DarkMeat
QUOTE (brainchild @ Apr 5 2006, 07:07 PM) *
There isn't much I can do at this time. Ebay requires that we have a previous auction running that demonstrates we were using the image first. Sadly, a few months back eBay decided that we were fresnel lens 'big tv' scammers like the rest and told us we could no longer run auctions on eBay. I explained the situation to the robots that 'process' customer service and was told I can list in the 'information' category with the Sea Monkeys and get rich quick pdfs. This means that I can't 'prove' to eBay that that is my wife and my picture. I sent the scammer a cease and desist which he ignored.

This is BS hell I'm not American but shit the one thing you guys have is a law for everything as far as someone passing your hard work as to sell theirs there has to be something you can do. The fact that it's your wifes pic means you should have some rights. As much as I use ebay I can't belive that BS line that they gave you. Maybe you should walk into one of their offices with your wife and a pj and ask them what their lawyers have to say wink.gif
samuraijack
QUOTE (DarkMeat @ Apr 6 2006, 03:19 AM) *
This is BS hell I'm not American but shit the one thing you guys have is a law for everything as far as someone passing your hard work as to sell theirs there has to be something you can do. The fact that it's your wifes pic means you should have some rights. As much as I use ebay I can't belive that BS line that they gave you. Maybe you should walk into one of their offices with your wife and a pj and ask them what their lawyers have to say wink.gif


Actually there MIGHT be something you can do. More appropiately, your wife. Take a legal request and form it so they have to provide you with proof that they have your wifes permission to use her likeness in their adds. They will refuse or ignore, then you can file cease and desist under small clai9ms and escalate it later on for "damages due to lost revenue" and "representation without compensation". Just start taking snaps of the auction each day so you have a case.


revenge, chilled at 35Degrees F.
SJ
brainchild
Might be a bit tricky as he is in the UK.
makey
If he's reproduced stuff from the privalt forums (plogs) is that illegal,
if that's so and you can show ebay that he's done that could u get em to remove the listing?
DarkMeat
QUOTE (makey @ Apr 6 2006, 07:58 AM) *
If he's reproduced stuff from the privalt forums (plogs) is that illegal,
if that's so and you can show ebay that he's done that could u get em to remove the listing?

Damn I didn't realize he was not in the U.S that would make it a bit harder to deal with.
fastscirocco
This may sound simplistic, but why not have your wife contact Ebay complaining
that they are using a photo of her without her permission.

Further she can inform them that the only one that does have the right to use it is
Lumen lab, and then prove it was used using this link here:

http://web.archive.org/web/20040521074352/...//lumenlab.com/

which is a cached copy of your site from March 21, 2004 found on this site:

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.lumenlab.com/

Which is an archive of older websites.

Further more she can state that she retains ownership of the image, and his using
it without permissiion violates international copyright law. She can also inform them
that she still retains the original image, as well as others from that same shoot that
she can provide as proof.

The key here is that the model who owns the images needs to file the complaint
Yoder808
What if everyone unites at LL and we each send an Email to ebay, telling them it's fraud? Maybe if they see the whole community stand up, they would understand that we all think it is an outrage. They probably assume that it(your site) is dodgy like this guys. But, if we show them that it is not a fly-by-night operation, and we are a tight nit community of loyal members, MAYBE they will do something... Or not... I think its worth a shot, and it wouldn't cost us a penny, or 5 minutes of our time.

Thats my 2 cents!
Smackre
i cant believe how low people can be.
eudaimonia
Why not post a complaint to ebay on the basis that if Lumenlab must be in the "information" category with the "big tv" scammers than this guy should be too. At least that would relegate him to the same fate as LL and hopefully piss him off a bunch too. They should have no basis for treating the two of you differently so they either need to put you both in the real auction section or both in the scammers section. Doesn't look like the new guy can offer anything but files and emails whereas LL has this site and forums. Fleabay be damned...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.